Sturbridge Rotary awards scholarships to Tantasqua students

Eight local students recognized, honored by Rotarians

STURBRIDGE — The Sturbridge Rotary Club has been awarding scholarships each year to local students for the past 47 years.  The first scholarship was for $500 and the amount awarded has steadily increased over the years.  This year Sturbridge Rotary awarded scholarships of $1,000 each to six students from Tantasqua Regional High School.  Cumulatively, Rotary is proud to have awarded over $214,000 in local scholarships.

The scholarship committee chose the following students based upon the Club’s criteria of personal and scholastic achievement, participation in school activities including sports as well as community service through work and volunteering.

This year’s recipients of Sturbridge Rotary Scholarships are Jennifer Collins, Olivia George, Jordan Lapierre, Erin Shae McCarthy, Brian Daniel Riel and Leia Krans.  Leia Krans also received the $500 “Wendall Wright Memorial Award”.  Wendall was an educator and long-time supporter of Rotary.

Additionally, a one-time $3,000 “Phil Carlson Memorial Award” was received by Arianna Renee Taft.  Phil was a 50-year member of Rotary and served as Scholarship Chairman for many years.   

Sturbridge Rotary Club is one of 35,000 clubs worldwide providing humanitarian service as members of Rotary International.  Beyond the local and international help that we provide, we are most proud of our support of educational programs for youth such as sponsoring students to attend the Rotary Youth Leadership Award program as well as awarding scholarships to the young men and women that we recognize here.  These students will receive their funding upon completion of their first semester.  To learn more about Sturbridge Rotary please visit us at or


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.