Greater Worcester Community Foundation awards over $683K in scholarships

Nearly 400 area students awarded funds for college education

📸 Quaboag Regional High School was among the area schools to award scholarship money from the Greater Worcester Community Foundation. Quaboag Superintendent Brett Kustigian photo.

WORCESTER — Greater Worcester Community Foundation recently announced the awarding of over $683,000 in college scholarships to local residents for the 2019-20 academic year. Awards ranged from $300 to $5,000 and were given to 399 students who are beginning or continuing their college educations.

Since the scholarship program began in 1978, the Foundation has awarded over $11.8 million to 7,975 students through 136 scholarship funds, each endowed by local donors with eligibility criteria reflecting various interests. More than 160 volunteers on 42 selection committees awarded the scholarships, the highest annual scholarship payout in the history of the foundation.

Students from the following high schools will be receiving scholarships for the 2019-20 academic year:

  • Abby Kelley Foster Charter Public School
  • Algonquin Regional High School
  • Auburn High School
  • Bancroft School
  • Bartlett High School
  • Bay Path Regional Vocational Technical High School
  • Blackstone Valley Vocational Regional High School
  • Burncoat Senior High School
  • Claremont Academy
  • Clinton Senior High School
  • David Prouty High School
  • Doherty Memorial High School
  • Douglas High School
  • Fitchburg High School
  • Framingham High School
  • Grafton Memorial High School
  • Holy Name Central Catholic Jr/Sr High School
  • Hopedale Jr/Sr High School
  • Leicester High School
  • Leominster High School
  • Massachusetts Academy of Math & Science
  • Millbury Memorial Jr/Sr High School
  • Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical High School
  • Murdock Middle/High School
  • Nipmuc Regional Middle/High School
  • North Brookfield High School
  • North High School
  • Northbridge High School
  • Oakmont Regional High School
  • Oxford High School
  • Quaboag Regional Middle/High School
  • Ralph C. Mahar Regional High School
  • Shepherd Hill Regional High School
  • Shrewsbury High School
  • South High Community School
  • South Lancaster Academy
  • Southbridge High School
  • St. Bernard Central Catholic High School
  • St. John’s High School
  • St. Mary’s Jr/Sr High School
  • St. Peter-Marian CC Jr/Sr High School
  • Sutton Memorial Jr/Sr High School
  • Tahanto Regional High School
  • Tantasqua Regional High School
  • University Park Campus School
  • Wachusett Regional High School
  • West Boylston Jr/Sr High School
  • Westborough High School
  • Whitinsville Christian School
  • Worcester Academy
  • Worcester Technical High School

Recipients throughout Worcester County were selected through a highly competitive process on the basis of merit, financial need and special criteria established by Foundation donors. College-bound high school seniors can be considered for multiple scholarship opportunities through the Foundation’s single online application. The next application cycle will open in January 2020.

For more information, please contact Donor Services Officer and scholarship program manager Liz Nye at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.