Southbridge Town Council candidate profiles

This week, The Citizen Chronicle will be publishing interviews with the current candidates for a seat on the Southbridge Town Council. This year there will be four seats on the general election ballot on June 12. There will be three three-year seats decided on by the voters, and one one-year seat to fill a vacancy made by the resignation of Wally MacKenzie. Locally registered voters may take out nomination papers and return them to the Town Clerk’s office by 5 p.m. on Tuesday with at least 39 signatures of locally registered voters.

Prior to Town Hall opening for business this morning, six candidates for Town Council have submitted their nomination papers and are set to appear on the general election ballot: David Adams, Esteban Carrasco, Jr., John Daniel, Mike Marketti, and Jacquelyn Ryan. Seven others have taken out nomination papers but, as of publication, have not yet returned them. Those potential candidates are Kristen Auclair, Joe Cotrona, Joe Daou, Jack Jovan, Scott Lazo, John Pulawski, and David Smick.

The Citizen Chronicle has already interviewed many of these candidates with a standard set of common questions that will be published, in transcript-form, this week. The publication schedule is as follows:

Nomination papers may also be taken for candidates interested in serving a three-year term as Town Clerk, a five-year term to the Southbridge Redevelopment Authority, a three-year term to the Southern Worcester County Regional Vocational School Committee, a five-year term to the Southbridge Housing Authority, and a pair of three-year terms to the Southbridge School Committee.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.