Laferriere unseats Rabbitt on school committee

Borowski brings new face and experience to BOS

CHARLTON — In the lone contested race on the ballot, the challenger defeated the three-term incumbent, while a new face will join the Board of Selectmen.

Kenny Laferriere defeated incumbent Elaine Rabbitt by more than 200 votes in the annual town election on Saturday, claiming 667 votes to Rabbitt’s 463 to secure a seat on the Dudley-Charlton Regional School Committee.

Laferriere, who unsuccessfully ran for a seat on the school board last year, works for a non-profit agency and has two young sons that will be enrolled in the school system for years to come.

Laferriere told The Citizen Chronicle earlier this week he has the skills necessary to build relationships and connect with people and noted that budgetary constraints facing the district are of great concern for him. He echoed some of those thoughts after his election night victory.

“My next steps as a school committee member will be to build relationships with my fellow members of the committee as well as district administration,” Laferriere told The Citizen Chronicle. “I look forward to getting down to business.”

Laferriere thanked the support of voters and expressed his eagerness to get started in his new capacity.

“I wish to thank the people of Charlton for electing me to this very important position in our Town Government,” he said. “As I shared in my campaign, I am very proud of our amazing school district and I look forward to serving all of the students of the Dudley-Charlton Regional School District.”

Elaine Rabbitt

Rabbitt, who has served on the school committee since being elected in 2011, has applauded the “talent and dedication” of the regional school district’s teachers, administrators, and support staff. Like Laferriere, she noted her chief concern going forward was budgetary constraints for the district.

Bill Borowski was unopposed in seeking to fill the seat being vacated by Joe Szafarowicz, who opted not to seek re-election to the Board of Selectmen. Borowski, who received 955 votes on Saturday, has previously served as a member of the Millbury Board of Selectmen as well as other posts in that town.

In his formal announcement that he would be seeking election, Borowski affirmed he has “the necessary skills to develop and oversee strategies that will serve the best interests of our town.” He also pledged to help “restore” trust in local government “with new ideas and a new perspective.”

Others securing victories on this year’s annual election ballot were Nancy Landry for Assessor; Kristen Russell-May for Cemetery Commissioner; Paul Gagner and David Cantwell for Water & Sewer Commissioner; Ross Lemansky and Donald Clay for Planning Board; Kevin Morin for Recreation Commissioner; Jonathan Sanborn for Board of Health; Jordan Evans and Robert Hartwig for Library Trustee; Jamie Lynn Terry for Dudley-Charlton Regional School Committee; and Jordan Evans and Richard Fiske, Jr., for Constable.

This story has been updated to include post-election comments from Mr. Laferriere. Last update was made at 8:55 a.m. on May 5, 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.